love story

A Love Story

Here is where their story begins,
In a time when they were young,
And they did not yet regret their sins.

A boy whose praises went unsung,
Met a girl who ignored her worth,
And together they climbed on love’s first rung.

But they scaled too quickly from earth,
And when those naïve darlings fell,
They came crashing from their mirth.

They said a bitter-sweet farewell,
And tried to mend their hearts,
But the sadness deep inside did swell.

She knew they could not live apart,
And he knew he could not be her friend,
For her name was inked upon his heart.

They could not a minute longer pretend,
And thus began a new endeavour,
For theirs is a love story with no end.

They’ll climb together forever.

 

napo2014button2This poem was written for NaPoWriMo. Today’s challenge was to write a terza rima; a poem with a rhyming pattern like this: ABA, BCB, CDC, DED etc… I found this a challenge as I couldn’t get my usual flow, but I hope it still works well! Oh, and it was inspired by my own love story and is therefore dedicated to my hubby :)

9 thoughts on “A Love Story”

  1. Thank you both. Hubby and I met 14 years ago and married 4 years ago – I guess that’s so far so good! :D

  2. Good for you! I tried this prompt…for about 5 minutes. Rhyme is not my friend, but you did a great job!

    1. Thank you Jennifer! Usually I love rhyme… mostly. But this one was just weird. Won’t be trying this style again!

Leave a Comment

