Salar-De-Uyuni-Bolivia

The Fallen Sky

As I walk upon the fallen sky,
I’m overcome with peace,
The where? What? When?
The who?
The why?
The questions finally cease.

The inconsequentiality
of all I’ve come to know,
The insignificance of me
humility bestowed!

Now humbled by my fragility,
And in awe of the sublime,
All troubles ebb away from me;
Just snags on the weave of time.

The atrocities in history?
And every time I’ve cried?
Mere raindrops in this cosmic sea;
Lost on forever’s tide.

Today’s piece was inspired by a place called Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia (pictured), which is the world’s largest salt flat and the German word sehnsucht, which loosely translates as an intense longing or desire for an unnameable something, ambivalent emotions and reflection and evaluation of one’s life – all at once!

11 thoughts on “The Fallen Sky”

  1. I just love the word Sehnsucht! Then again, I weirdly enough, love the German language. Anyway, really love this piece. How sometimes a moment of clarity can give us peace that stays with us… Great write!

    1. Thank you! It was exactly that; I saw the picture and then I saw the bigger picture, as it were! Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Thank you, I was in need of a little perspective today. Gotta love German! (I’m trying and mostly failing to learn the language while we’re living over here.)

    1. Thank you and I’m glad that I could help ;)

      German is on my list of languages to learn. Started (and quickly stopped) many years ago and need to give it another try! It’s home to two of my all-time favourite words; sehnsucht and schadenfreude – I love that they have words for so many abstract feelings!

Leave a Comment

