miners-gambling

A Card Game

Lounged on the veranda on a dewy night;
Conman v marine (and conman’s hand is terrible…
He tends to be a sober player, right?)

He’s entirely lost; a jester (allegorical…)
Can the air magic him an anchor in this lough?!
Not now that he’s imbibed; he’d need quite the miracle.

So a hundred times he lost respect somehow,
Unloosed by defamation, sin and other tripe,
Poor Vinny; his tricks are terminable now.

(Plus the video is live and has very many likes!)

 

napo2014button2This poem was written for NaPoWriMo. Today’s challenge was to write homophonic translation. Essentially you choose a poem in a language you don’t know and ‘translate it’ by replacing the words with English words that look/sound similar. The poem I chose was a Spanish one by Joge Guillén called “Aquellos Veranos”. You can see it below…

Lentos veranos de niñez
Con monte y mar, con horas tersas,
Horas tendidas sobre playas
Entre los juegos de la arena,
Cuando el aire más ancho y libre
Nunca embebe nada que muera,
Y se ahondan los regocijos
En luz de vacación sin tregua,
El porvenir no tiene término,
La vida es lujo y va muy lenta.

Because the poem consists of ten lines, I also chose to write my ‘translation’ in Terza Rima.

13 thoughts on “A Card Game”

  1. I never even thought about turning all those random words into a proper poem… *sigh* This is slightly trippy, but still very fun! Nice write!

    1. Thank you! I wasn’t sure what we were meant to do with them if I’m honest – I’ve seen a few blogs with some very different approaches today, but that’s all part of the fun I think!

    1. Thank you! Yes, me and my insistence on rhyme again. Haha. I just can’t help myself!… I notice you snuck it in yours too ;)

Leave a Comment

