Dark Chocolate

Dark Chocolate

You once told me you were a box of chocolates,
Said I’d never know quite what I’d get,
And you said you weren’t any old chocolates;
You were Green & Blacks – simply the best!

And just like that aforesaid chocolate,
You were dark, smooth, rich and so sweet,
You tasted like some heavenly nectar
(and smelt, felt, and looked magnifique!)

Oh the malevolent wings of memory!
They’ve just carried me swiftly away,
Back to when your love was my master
and it whipped me as if I were its slave.

Did you hear that I once sat up all night,
Just hoping that you’d give me a call?
I begged myself, “Rena, please sleep!”
I can almost touch the pure shame of it all.

There’ll be a headline explaining my death:
Clogging Cocoa Causes Coronary!
You’ll have stopped my poor heart from, well, beating,
Then shrugged it off with a trite, “Ces’t la vie!

You might just be earth’s mightiest scumbag!
Like the wicked witch was to Dorothy,
And I’m quite sure that this isn’t Kansas,
So no ruby Manolo’s for me.

I hate you! I hate you but love you…
I guess you’re just that kind of guy;
One minute you make me feel scuzzy,
The next, you are making me fly.

Now I’m boiling like water for chocolate!
(But I know you won’t get the analogy;
It doesn’t mean that I’m totally hot for you,
It means that I’m delectably angry…)

My God, you’re just so much like chocolate,
But not like you said at the start;
You’re an unrefined, bitter old bean
that plays ping pong with poor puny hearts.

napo2014button2This poem was written for NaPoWriMo. Today’s challenge was to write “Twenty Little Poetry Projects”. Essential another recipe poem with the following twenty rules (I think I got most of them):

  1. Begin the poem with a metaphor.
  2. Say something specific but utterly preposterous.
  3. Use at least one image for each of the five senses, either in succession or scattered randomly throughout the poem.
  4. Use one example of synesthesia (mixing the senses).
  5. Use the proper name of a person and the proper name of a place.
  6. Contradict something you said earlier in the poem.
  7. Change direction or digress from the last thing you said.
  8. Use a word (slang?) you’ve never seen in a poem.
  9. Use an example of false cause-effect logic.
  10. Use a piece of talk you’ve actually heard (preferably in dialect and/or which you don’t understand).
  11. Create a metaphor using the following construction: “The (adjective) (concrete noun) of (abstract noun) . . .”
  12. Use an image in such a way as to reverse its usual associative qualities.
  13. Make the persona or character in the poem do something he or she could not do in “real life.”
  14. Refer to yourself by nickname and in the third person.
  15. Write in the future tense, such that part of the poem seems to be a prediction.
  16. Modify a noun with an unlikely adjective.
  17. Make a declarative assertion that sounds convincing but that finally makes no sense.
  18. Use a phrase from a language other than English.
  19. Make a non-human object say or do something human (personification).
  20. Close the poem with a vivid image that makes no statement, but that “echoes” an image from earlier in the poem.
2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate”

Leave a Comment

